Angling Club

President: Alan Kemp                                                                                                                                                  Chairman: Peter Drew (01424 812383 or 07752 629581)                                                                                        Commodore: Mick Goswell (01424 814070 or 07759 457926)                                                                            Secretary: Kit McLean (07800 84137)                                                                                                                Competition Secretary: Andy Goodsell (07809 573389)

The New Beach Sea Angling Club is based at the New Beach Club at Pett Level.  Organised boat angling competitions are held regularly throughout the season from April until October.  Members’ boats are kept on the beach and a winch is available to use for pulling boats down the beach and back up to their berth.

Local catches include plaice, cod, black bream, whiting, dabs, thornback ray, Dover sole, red and tub gurnard, bass, mackerel etc.  Our Annual Christmas beach competition is always a favourite with the members.

                                  COMPETITION DATES 2018

Sunday 1st April                10.00 – 16.00     and     Sunday 15th April             08.30 – 14.30

Sunday 29th April              09.00 – 15.00     and     Sunday 13th May             07.30 – 13.30

Sunday 27th May              07.45 – 13.45     and     Sunday 17th June             11.30 – 17.30

Sunday 1st July                 11.00 – 17.00     and     Sunday 15th July              10.30 – 16.30

Sunday 29th July               10.00 – 16.00     and     Sunday 12th August         09.30 – 15.30

Sunday 26th August          09.00 – 15.00     and     Sunday 9th Sept               08.30 – 14.30

Sunday 23rd Sept              08.00 – 14.00     and     Sunday 7th October         07.30 – 13.30

Sunday 14th October         12.00 – 18.00     and     Sunday 28th October      10.00 – 16.00

              Christmas Beach Competition – Sunday 9th December 09.30 – 14.00

                   Any queries, please contact Andy Goodsell on 07809 573389

                            Mick Goswell on 01424 814070 or 07759 457926

We managed to fish a competition at last on July 15. Five boats with 11 anglers put to sea on a bright, hot day, the fishing was extremely slow as is often the case this time of year. Only six anglers weighed in. Steve Harris won with 6lb 9oz, including a thornback ray of around 5lb, Andy Goodsell second with 2lb 6oz and Pete Drew third with 2lb 4oz. Our next competition is due on July 29 launching at 10am and returning at 16.00. We are hoping for more good calm weather and a few more fish.

Andy Goodsell and his first Norwegian cod, just before he kissed it, caressed it and ……….

And then a day or so later he manages to boat Halibut. Which was nice!

 

Alan Farnes and Brian Lee had to go to Scotland to catch their fish

Alan’s hands with his salmon

 

Brian with his salmon

 

Pete Shiers with his conger eel on a recent trip to Cornwall